You’re a what?

I’m a human being. Beyond that, I no longer believe there’s much value for me in debating what I may or may not be — in a professional context and beyond. The architects are architects, the engineers are engineers, and the scientists are scientists. I’m afraid I’m neither.

These days, I’m much more interested in what I can do or, even more interestingly, what we can do and achieve together.

I work with other humans in corporate environments to plan, design, create and deliver digital services to customers. Success means delivering a service that is desirable to humans, commercially viable and technology feasible (hat-tip to IDEO via Milan Guenther in Intersection). Great success means having made life just a little bit better for everyone involved.

Design? But you can’t even draw! Indeed, I can’t, at least not well. Too bad. I practice design in the sense Herbert Simon (hat-tip to Ruth Malan) had in mind when he said:

Everyone designs who devises courses of action aimed at changing existing situations into preferred ones. –Herbert Simon

Humans have been doing this for a long, long time. So I practice design. And so do you.

2 thoughts on “You’re a what?

  1. Pingback: What does an architect do? | Oliver's Blog

  2. Pingback: Enterprise Design Framework: Big Picture | Oliver's Blog

Leave a Reply

